NHSmail users in optometry practices are strongly advised to regularly log in to their accounts.
NHS Digital will be making changes to the NHSmail account lifecycle from early December 2022 to address the security risk to the platform caused by inactive accounts. Both the ‘active’ and ‘inactive’ periods are being reduced to 30 days and accounts that remain unused during this period will become eligible for deletion after 60 days. During this time, users have a further 30 days to get their account restored before it is deleted permanently.
If you are going on long term leave, please ask the shared mailbox owner to mark your account as disabled – this stops them being deleted for 18 months. When you return you must ask for it to be re-enabled.